Baboo

During the annual RHS Hampton Court Palace Flower Show, accommodation in the area could be a problem. And that is exactly what I faced this year. My hotel only had rooms available for two days, and I had to find a place for the third night.

IMG_9754
Access to the marina.
I found this boat (American 10m Sports Cruiser) through Airbnb and I have to say that it was perfect for me. It is a shame that I didn’t get to share the experience though. I don’t stay in floating accommodation very often…

IMG_9757

Natasha, my host, was great and she sent me all the details in advance. The day of my stay it was really straight forward to get there and gain access to the marina.

IMG_9756

I wish I had had more spare time to sit and sip a G&T on deck.

IMG_9766

The boat has everything you need for a short stay. Natasha left me a card and some chocolates. It felt like a private cocoon to relax after a long day.

There is a full kitchenette, WiFi, TV, Netflix, and Spotify available. Plus you get to use the gardens, BBQ, outside dining areas and even to explore with kayaks and an electric dinghy if you have the time. So this is calling for a second visit!

IMG_9768

IMG_9767

The marina is quite a find. You access by this huge Swiss chalet, which is a listed building and has been here since 1882.

IMG_9774

There is a very quirky floating garden with water features, sculptures and koi fish.

IMG_9776

From a professional point of view, the gardens could do with some revamping. They are quite charming though, but there is a lot of potential there.

IMG_9778

It was really quiet during my stay, but I can picture great garden parties during summer evenings. There is a barbecue and lounge chairs in another area close to the river.

IMG_9772

If you are looking for a different place to stay, there is no doubt that Baboo would be the perfect option. Hampton Court Palace is only a walk away, and the area has restaurants and anything you need. Then you can walk back to the tranquility of the marina and make plans for the following day.

Leave a Reply

