Barceló Bilbao Nervión – hotel review

I would usually spend a lot of time researching and comparing hotels before I book one. This time I traveled to Bilbao with friends, so the choice was mainly made based on location and price.

There is nothing better than being nicely surprised, and this was the case with Barceló Bilbao Nervión. As soon as you walk into the lobby you are welcomed by a pleasant scent, but most importantly by an open space featuring interesting design which The Hunter is always eager to find.

IMG_7153_2

Barceló Bilbao Nervión is located right by the river (Nervión) and really close to the old town and the Guggenheim. This museum is so spectacular that I couldn’t stop taking pictures every time I walked by it.

IMG_7151_2

Hotels can be as fancy and sophisticated as you can possibly imagine, but they are nothing without good service. The staff at Bilbao Nervión are very professional and attentive, the best selling point.

IMG_7272

This mural dominates the lobby and I couldn’t help but take a look closer. It is a piece by the artist Agustín Ibarrola, a Spanish Basque painter and sculptor. The wall art takes inspiration from the Oma Forest in the Basque Country. He created a stunning installation painting the tree trunks in what is one of his most famous works.

 

IMG_7279_2

In a close up you can see the number of painted wooden cubes. Every room has its own mini version of this piece with four or five colourful pieces of wood hanging from the walls.

IMG_7276_2

This friendly cow welcomes every guest as soon as they arrive. It was signed by someone called López Goitia, but sadly I haven’t managed to find any information about the artist.

 

IMG_7281

There are very interesting pieces everywhere you look. Some of my favourites are the following lamp and chair.

PicMonkey Collage

On a professional note, I was quite disappointed to find out that the only plants are in such basic and boring pots. This Kentia would have looked a million pounds in a quirky and unique pot. And this is why you should always consult with a professional. I hope Barceló Hoteles takes note of my comment and calls The Hunter when they consider upgrading this lobby or any other: www.jorge-rodriguez.org 

IMG_7296

I spent two days walking around Bilbao and trying all sorts of pinchos (typical tapas from the Basque Country) and wines. So I didn’t try the food at the hotel.

I can point out that the rooms are quite nicely decorated and the beds are very comfortable. I was in a basic room but it was still very inviting and modern.

IMG_7152_2

Have a look at some other rooms available:

PicMonkey Collage

I will be posting about Bilbao very soon, but in the meantime I leave you with one of the most impressive buildings I have ever seen: Guggenheim Museum:

IMG_7132_2

And here is an image of El Bosque de Oma (Oma forest) by Agustín Ibarrola. I really can’t wait to go back to the Basque Country to see it.

agustin-ibarrola-bosque-oma

 

Leave a Reply

