Orlebar Brown – Summer wish list

Captura de pantalla 2014-08-05 a las 20.35.39

 

BULLDOG Lurking Leopard Konstantin Print Mid-Length Swim Short £195.00
BULLDOG
Lurking Leopard Konstantin Print Mid-Length Swim Short
£195.00

As I am planning a holiday in St Lucia this year I have realised that I haven’t changed my swimsuit in quite a few seasons. I used to live on an island where swimwear is as essential as shoes or a coat if you live in London. But I have been outside of the island for a few years and now and I barely get any beach time once a year.

Having said that, I discovered this brand very recently and I am liking it more and more. One of the main reasons is that Orlebar Brown is the closest you could get to a Saville Row made to fit swimsuit. And that my friends is was luxury is all about.

Orlebar Brown Canary Warf
Orlebar Brown Canary Warf

I want to point out the fact that this is a small but rapidly growing company whose success rests on using the best quality materials, amazing design and a very clever marketing campaign. It is inspiring to see their rapid expansion and recognise the products.

These two are on my bucket list for St Lucia:

SETTER Bay Blue Shorter Length Swim Short £130.00
SETTER
Bay Blue Shorter Length Swim Short
£130.00
BEAUMONT Crystal Sepia Amalfi Coast Cruising Sunglasses £195.00
BEAUMONT
Crystal Sepia Amalfi Coast Cruising Sunglasses
£195.00

Orlebar brown is a London based company, launched in 2007 by Adam Brown. It is quite peculiar how the whole concept started. In his own words: “I went to a friend’s 40th birthday in Rajasthan. The group was mainly made up of people work in design or certainly have a visual sense about them. It was a real mix of married, single, gay, straight, 25 – 55 years old and it was just one of those moments where (maybe with a slightly too critical photographers’ eye), I thought the women looked great and the men looked pretty ghastly. They were all wearing these horrid brightly patterned boxer shorts with elasticated waistbands, or baggy board shorts with their bums hanging out – which is fine on a 17 year old, but not so sure on a man over the age of 30/35.”

Have a look at this video where Adam Brown gives a briefing on the brand himself:

They also launched an OB Editions range in 2010. These collaborations have included Bill Amberg and Alan Aldridge amongst others.

Check out Tommy Penton for Orlebar Brown:

BULLDOG London Tommy Penton Print/Embroidered Mid-Length Swim Short £245.00
BULLDOG
London Tommy Penton Print/Embroidered Mid-Length Swim Short
£245.00

At the moment the range has increased to women’s and kids’ swimwear and accessories.

During the past year I have been wondering if I should or I shouldn’t buy a photography book with pool side pictures by Slim Aarons. The only reason for me to doubt was the fact that coffee table books are like furniture; you love it but you have to take it with you whenever you move (I finally bought it at Jonathan Adler). Long story short, all that information to point out that this year I discovered that those pictures inspired a new limited edition.

Although I prefer the plain ones, there are very interesting prints available. Check these out!

BULLDOG Toucan Jungle Print Mid-Length Swim Short £225.00
BULLDOG
Toucan Jungle Print Mid-Length Swim Short
£225.00
BULLDOG Parrot Feathers Print Mid-Length Swim Short £185.00
BULLDOG
Parrot Feathers Print Mid-Length Swim Short
£185.00

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

