Indoor Plants

African violet (Saintpaulia)
African violet

As I mentioned in a previous post, when referring to the workplace, plants contribute to our wellbeing even if we are not aware of it.

Not only the workplace but your own house will be enhanced by some nice plants. There is a tendency in interior design to avoid any living plants and use only cut flowers. I guess this is a personal choice, but plants have proven to have a very positive influence in our daily lives. Although some of them help clean the air and feng shui rules would tell you where to place each one, let’s be honest; they look good and they could be used as a feature themselves when decorating any space.

Aeonium
Aeonium

This time I want so show you some of my own. The Hunter has a tendency to hoard plants. I feel the need to rescue those about to die plus the fact that I work with plants and can’t imagine my house without some good photosynthesis.

Maranta and Scindapsus
Maranta and Scindapsus

I published my first post when I bought this Maranta, which proves some greenfingers.

Phalaenopsis
Phalaenopsis

P1000005

Adiantum
Cymbidium
Agave
Odontoglossum
Stephanotis
Chlorophytum comosum
Chlorophytum comosum, home propagation.
Chlorophytum comosum, home propagation.
Jasminum officinale
P1000231
Kentia (Howea forsteriana)

I also have a Begonia, Aloe, a money plant and bulbs. Quite a lot of plants for a fairly small place. Part of the “plant therapy” consists of watering, cleaning and tidying up. I can tell you, it is a very relaxing experience. The only issue I can think of is going on holidays for more than one week (for that there are many watering systems; I recommend the friend who owes you a favour).

Visit The Chelsea Gardener for interesting houseplants.

Leave a Reply

